Fourier transform- Use of linspace for frequency spacing

Hi,
I am currently studying “Master the Fourier transform and its applications/” and while studying Matlab and Python examples, I have noticed that “linspace” function have used inconsistently.
In some places,
% compute frequencies vector
hz = linspace(0,srate/2,floor(pnts/2)+1);

and in some others;
hz = linspace(0,srate,length(time));

the first one is true hz = linspace(0,srate/2,floor(pnts/2)+1) or hz = linspace(0,srate,length(time)+1). Both in Matlab and Python, linspace includes endpoints.

I noticed it in zero-padding of signal and their Fourier spectra (Master the Fourier transform and its applications, chapter 6). Fourier spectra did not give same results for close frequency points, unless correct frequency spacing is used.

Hi Omer. That can indeed get confusing. I explain it at least once in the course, although I couldn’t tell you which video it is :confused:

The positive frequencies go from 0 to Nyquist in N/2+1 steps. That’s the first line of code you wrote.

The second line of code you wrote is correct up until Nyquist and incorrect above Nyquist. This vector can be used as a convenient plotting trick. As long as you don’t interpret the frequencies above Nyquist, it’s OK for plotting.

actually my point is not nyquist, spacing between frequency values. If linspace is used, number of points is +1 (should be)

from the course example
## zero-padding in fft function
%matplotlib notebook

# create the signal
signal = [ 4, 6, -1, 0, 5, -4 ]

# number of zeros to add after signal
n2pad = [ 0, 10, 100 ]

for zi in range(len(n2pad)):

# total length of signal
    zeropadN = len(signal)+n2pad[zi]

# FFT and amplitude
    sigampl   = np.abs( scipy.fftpack.fft(signal,zeropadN) )

# one of the two normalization steps
    sigampl = sigampl / len(signal)

frequnits = np.linspace(0,1,zeropadN)

# and plot
    plt.plot(frequnits[:-1],sigampl,'s-',label='%g-point FFT' %zeropadN)

# add some plot extras