Pre-processing for FFT (or other ways of extracting the power spectrum of the signal)

Hi All,

I am a PhD student, learning how to analyse the EEG data collected from infants (so lots of noise, and a lot less usable trials). We use the EGI 128 channel hydro cap to collect the data, and I use the NetStation offered by the EGI and the EEGlab (and ERPlab when needed) to look at the data.

I have epoched data, with each epoch lasting 5 seconds, and I’m trying to run a power analysis (or a frequency analysis). I believe I should perform the FFT and see the power spectrum of the data, but I have a question regarding this.

So the question is;
Why do we need no baseline (and hence baseline correction) for the power decomposition of the data?

The background is;

I was told that the power analysis requires no baseline (and hence baseline correction), and I don’t think I understand why - even though i was given explanations multiple times. Could anyone advise me on this?

More specific to what I’m doing - so, like I said, I have multiple segments of which I want to use the power spectrum - more specifically, I’m interested in the averaged power over all the segments. What I thought I should be doing would be (1) create a STUDY on the EEGlab (i.e. import all the segmented data into one group), and then (2) compute the power. When I epoch the data I was asked by the EEGlab if I wanted to subtract the mean of channels - and that made me again wonder if we really need no baseline correction for the analysis I’d want to run, because I thought the amplitude of segments collected later would probably differ from the segments recorded earlier due to anything (which I believe is why we need a baseline correction for ERPs or time-frequency).

I am really a novice in this so I might be missing out some critical information for you to respond - if so please let me know!